coloursue

By coloursue

A Horcrux maybe?

Harry Potter and Horcruxes were on my mind this morning – and when I caught this necklace on the windowsill in the sun – the three became one!

I really enjoyed the Harry Potter books and movies – I think J K Rowling did a fabulous job of representing the human character.

One of the ideas that I really resonated with was Horcruxes. In the stories, the main baddie (Voldemort) ‘hides’ parts of his soul in various objects as a way of self preservation and protection. The latter part of Harry’s journey is to locate these Horcruxes and destroy them before Voldemort can reunite with them. For each Horcrux Voldemort reintegrates, he becomes stronger.

I think this is a great metaphor for how we often try to live our lives. We ‘hide’ parts of ourselves because we want to fit in and be accepted (survive) – and those parts are or could be a threat to that survival. But the irony is that this strategy actually makes us ‘weaker’ and less effective – rather like living life with one hand tied behind our back.

Like Voldemort – we actually get ‘stronger’, more whole, and become more effective when we have the courage to reintegrate those parts of ourselves and allow them expression. … and that’s what I love to help people do as a coach :)

I also think its apt that the photo has reflections of part of me within it …. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.