An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

A bit of Hogmanay bling...

Backblip

I have chosen a finger nail as my thumbnail!  Hahahahahah....well it made me laugh :-)))  Alan's support worker Ashleigh also does nails (handy ;-) so she gave me a little pampering this afternoon with a gel nail polish with additional sparkle for Hogmanay.   Can't remember the last time I did anything as relaxing for myself!

So we have reached the last day of 2016 at last.  Like a lot of people I am glad to see the back of this year but rather than dwelling on the downside of the year, I am focusing on the positives to look forward to in the New Year such as:-

The end of the building work.
Seeing Alan's face as he gets into his pool for the first time (this image has sustained me over the last 4 weeks.)
Turning 50 in January.   I see each birthday reached as a privilege not to be taken for granted, especially after sad news I received regarding the loss of a friend on Christmas day.
Spring time.
Summer time.
More time with my camera.
More time with boys.
More time with friends.
Holidays.
And lots more.....

Given that I am backblipping I can record what happened right up until the end moments of 2016 and the arrival of 2017.

The day was mainly spent getting everything in order for this evening.  Mostly by David who was still making up beds seconds before our guests arrived. 

We had the usual suspects, and probably for the first time in heaven knows how many years, I had the buffet ready for 10.15pm so we had time to eat our food at a leisurely pace then relax for a while before the bells, rather than be shovelling the food in as midnight fast approaches!

Sadly my delight didn't last as poor Agnes had an IBS attack not long after finishing her food and had to retire to bed at 11.20pm, but the rest of struggled manfully on with David and me in high spirits (literally and figuratively :-) as the fantastic Hue and Cry were on the BBC's Hogmanay Live show.

And soon it was time to raise our glasses and toast a Happy New Year to one and all.  Apart from poor Agnes who was in bed.  Asleep.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.