Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Yorkshire Show - History

I can't remember if I shared a postcard on here that advertised the Yorkshire Show in 1907.  Apparently the show moved around till 1951 when it finally settled in Harrogate.  I was intrigued by where the show might have been held and had decided that a likely spot was to the west of the town, which is relatively flat and would have been fields in 1907.  (I'd spent some time having a look at a turn of the century map online to try and decide on the location.)  I posted a couple of queries to Facebook pages asking if anyone knew where the show ground was, and I got a message back from the Memories of Barnsley page saying I needed edition 7 - so here it is, so efficient and it only cost me £3.50 with postage.  And apparently I was spot on in my choice of location. This is a really fine monthly magazine and an offshoot of the Barnsley Chronicle.  I wish we'd had something similar for Wakefield when I was working with schools.  I wonder if Barnsley teachers share this with their pupils.  

I've done more tidying and sorting this morning and feel I'm beginning to bring order to the chaos.  A short walk this afternoon as it's been such a lovely, but very cold day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.