Cheerful

I had to go for a blood test* so elected to have it done at Homerton Hospital, Hackney as a change from queuing at the local clinic. It was brilliant. I only had to wait for about 10 minutes and was welcomed by a very jovial nurse. I asked her why she was being all cheerful and happy when the people who do it locally are miserable and monosyllabic. She explained that she was an east end girl and so was naturally cheerful. I told her to watch it or I might have to lodge a complaint about being dealt with by a cheerful nurse. Which seemed to make her even happier.

And then when I was wandering around in the hospital afterwards lost and trying to find the exit I bumped in to her on a staircase as she was going for her tea break. Another jokey exchange about not having to keep meeting like this. 

And then with one bound I was free and ready for a coffee and bun because you must'nt eat for 12 hours before a blood test.  So I found this funky caff  and enjoyed an intriguing half hour looking at all the junk used to furnish the place. In Hi- Hipster style. All 1950's chairs and tables, old metal filing cabinets and typewriters. Cool.


* Nothing serious so don't go getting all worried about me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.