At the Jansen Art Center

Today Arvin and I joined friends Pat and Gayle on a trip up to the new Jansen Art Center in Lynden. What a wonderful place. It has art on display everywhere and many spaces for creating art. This is the weaving room with my friend Pat at the loom. She has been a weaver before. Of course she won't be doing much here as this loom has not been warped. ;-) But it seemed like a good idea for a blip. Here is the large version.

There are also painting, ceramics, jewelry and glass studios as well as a music area with practice and lesson rooms and two dance studios. There is a small concert hall, a library, meeting rooms and a store with wonderful art and craft gifts made by local artists.

I picked up materials on how to submit my paintings for their fall exhibit. They ask for submissions quarterly. I sent in mine just in the nick of time as they will be jurying soon. I would love to have my work there. I was so impressed with the place.

The four of ate a big lunch at The Dutch Mothers restaurant. Mmm. Delicious. I was driving so I took our friends home and then went back to our house for a quiet afternoon. It was a lovely day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.