Sunrise from Home

After yesterday's long travel day we both slept long and hard, finally home in our own bed. We were woken this morning by the neighbour, clearing our drive of the snow that fell yesterday.
The sun still hadn't risen but it was a bright point on the horizon and a few minutes later it came up.  A few more minutes and it was shining on the distant forest and across the village.
Later in the day we took a walk down to our nearest lake. It was minus 19°C so I had a lot of layers on. I remained warm through the walk except for my hands. They were chilly due to photography as it's hard to use a camera with two layers on the hands so the outer gloves came off as I took pictures, hence the cold fingers. Ironically I eventually chose this picture for my blip, taken through the kitchen window wearing just my dressing gown!
As we walked we admired our surroundings, with the dry cold air, the covering of snow (which arrived after New Year), and the beautiful light from the low sun. London was exciting but for us this cold beauty is 100 times better. When we got back we dug a path down to our cellar (where the washing machine is) and up to Jan's studio, just to check it was OK, which it was.  I finished off by refilling the bird feeders - in these temperatures they'll need the food!
Apart from the walk we stayed indoors, unpacking, looking at e-post, reading. Whenever possible we sat in the living room where we have a wood fire burning in the tiled stove. That room is really cosy but the rest of the house is a bit chilly. If the cold weather continues we'll have to burn some wood in our big boiler in the cellar because the electric heating on its own isn't quite enough. I'm so glad we chopped wood last summer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.