An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

A sight for Sore Eyes...

Backblip

None of Alan's support workers were coming in this morning, this meant I didn't need to be up, showered and dressed before 9am, so I had my first lie in since May.  Bliss!  But embarrassing, as after a loo stop at 7am, I fell back to sleep and finally woke up at 12.15!!!!   I texted Ele to see if she was up.  Yip, all up except me.  Oops.

By the time I was showered and dressed David, Kenny and Ele had managed to get the decs off our very dried up tree (spending so much time in hospital with Alan meant it missed a few waters) sawed it into bits and disposed of it.  Not a pine needle left inside.  Result.

Ele and Kenny headed off to see K's sister and D and I spent the rest of the day doing absolutely nothing.  It was wonderful.  Feet up, tv on and relishing the sound of our boy's laughter.  

As you can see from the photo Alan really is making a remarkable recovery.   Other than having to regain all the weight he lost, which will take time, he's not only back to his usual self but I would say an even better version of his usual self.   It's really becoming clear to us that his colitis negatively affected him all the time and not just during a flare up.   He is coping brilliantly with the ileostomy, as are his team, and they are also over the moon to see him so happy and full of mischief again.

A month ago we were heading for a very dark time, a month later and here we are.   A lesson on never giving up hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.