Clouds*and High Water

I am a sun sort of person. My spirits lift when the sun is shining and go under a rock when it is dull and raining. As the sun rose this morning,  there were a few streaks of pink and grey cloud in an otherwise blue sky.(*extra) By the time Ozzie and I got to Spring Lake the sky was a stunning cloudless blue and the waterline, after days of rain was very near the trail.

Ozzie is a water sort of dog. He doesn't care if it is raining and he loves nothing better than swimming around in a creek dipping his nose under water in search of sticks. He accomplished that this morning by lunging out of my grip and into the lake while I admired the stillness of the morning. There was nobody around, so I let him have his swim and was rewarded with a wet lead in my hand for the rest of the walk. and a wet dog in my car since I forgot to bring a towel.

Many years ago we purchased something called a 'dog bag' at Selfridge's in London. It was a terrycloth bag with a zipper and a hole for the dog's head. We had a Springer Spaniel named Emma who could smell out a muddy puddle a mile away and lie down in it. We would zip her into the dog bag which enhanced the drying process and kept her from running around spreading mud wherever she went...and she didn't seem to mind it at all. The dog bag wore out after many years and we have never been able to find another one....

Tomorrow it is supposed to start raining torrentially for three days and intermittently for the foreseeable future. The good news is that it makes weather like today's all the more appreciated. The bad news is that although Sonoma County has now been officially declared out of drought status, it will probably be enjoying flood status soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.