Flower Friday : : Roses

Dana has been off for two weeks and goes back to school on Monday, so we decided a field trip was in order. I had seen an article in the newspaper about some beautiful pillows which are made from textiles hand made on Chiloé, an island off the coast of Chile, using techniques dating from the 16th century, and passed down within the Huilliche community. It would require taking out a mortgage on the house to buy pillows for a bed or a couch, but made an excellent excuse for going to Healdsburg, a shoppers' Mecca, just north of here. I don't hate shopping...au contraire...I like to shop, just not in shopping malls. And not in stores that cater to the preteen set....I have always liked to dress up but never led a life where that was necessary or even appropriate. A friend once told me I should have married a diplomat....I don't think I've ever quite settled on what my 'style' is, but I enjoy thinking about it.

I almost changed my mind about Healdsburg when it was raining this morning, but Dana said, "I'm going", so off we went. In the end, the weather was quite nice by the time we got to the store that carries the pillows and blankets but they didn't have many pillows left for us to look at...just enough to realize that, handsome as they are we would have to mortgage both our houses to furnish a bed. Instead I managed to spend quite a bit of money elsewhere. Healdsburg is one of those towns that is pleasant to walk around if it isn't high summer and heaving with tourists and wine tasters. We went to a place called Oska which has a very distinct style... is difficult to describe, but perhaps I will post a picture of what I got there....

It is raining on all our new sofa cushions because the roof over the porch leaks...#328 on the fix-it list just moved up in priority. The lake at the bottom of our driveway has also moved up quite a few notches, but it will be difficult to tackle that one while it is raining. In all the shopping excitement I almost forgot to take a picture, but OilMan put the last of the roses in a little Delft vase on the kitchen windowsill. Thanks to Biker Bear for continuing this lovely Friday tradition. 

Note: that an underscore and the year have been added to the old tagging system of FF and the date.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.