Mysore

Today, Headed down to Mysore. This was an interesting drive to get out of the city but it did seem along for a palace and a wood shop.

On the way we stopped at the old summer palace of Tipu Sultan in Sringanapatna. It was very nice but I must confess to being fairly underwhelmed by it. I would have much rather been in the old walled city on the other side of the river.

The Palace in Mysore is incredible, it is a strange mix of mughal, hindu and victorian architecture. It is really pretty spectacular.

The feeling I get when being here with a driver and staying in a top quality hotel is one of being shepherded to see what people believe I want to see, and not really having the ability to get out that 'business man being entertained' rut. I had planned to come down to Mysore alone on the train but due to being sick the weekend before I decided to do the day trip.

I preferred this as my blip today, it is a standard Indian street scene. The trees are painted with strips to show that they belong to the government and permission must be sought if the are to chopped down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.