My Sweet, Little Gift...

This is a Pygmalion, or Barbados Cherry that is about 6-7 years old.  Our fellow blipper, Gaias Child was the first custodian of this bonsai.  The entire plant is 6" tall, including the pot.  If you find the trunk and allow your eyes to follow the center line, you will travel up the tree to the right, then make a curve to the left, and then turn right and upward.  On that center line you will see some wire.  This top, or the apex as it is called, was gently bent upward to help the top "stand up"  It was falling over to the left.  Now it is reaching upward to the sun.
      Gaias Child was kind and generous to pass the custodianship to me, and I have gratefully, nurtured this sweet, little tree to a new level (with the help of my master).  It sits in the morning sun today budding all sorts of new leaves.  The plants, this winter, are having a very hard time trying to figure out what season this is.  With the cold coming in tonight, I will put this sweetie in a greenhouse, plug in a heat source and cover with a frost cloth to keep all the new growth tips from freezing (this is a tropical plant and doesn't like anything under 50 degrees.)
    I want to thank Gaias Child for allowing me to care for this beauty and hope you enjoy seeing it's progress.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.