Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Pair on a Rock

Today was a good day. 8) Not my Russian fudge effort, mind you: that was a bucket o' fail, as it isn't setting. Of course, there's always a silver lining: with a bit of a burl in the microwave it'll become most bodacious ice cream topping for use after our Thai takeaways tonight. :-D

Also silver lining: we didn't have sufficient butter and sugar for my wife to make a batch, so I grabbed my backpack and ran up to the supermarket. I went via one of the local bush trails too, so that was excellent. Also particularly excellent: my leg is feeling great! :-D Only a slight twinge at the end of the 4k, and nothing persisting. Colour me super-happy. 8)

Earlier (in-between my fudge failure and my shopping run), I took Miss 6 and Mstr 5 out for a run. It was great fun. I was particularly impressed with Missy, who ran the entire first km we were out, and at a really good clip for little legs too: I reckon it was probably 10 minute mile pace or better. Most of the rest of the time we were out we walked through the bush, with short bursts of running, and a bit of "exploring", with missy-moo as the "Captain" deciding which path we would take. 8) On the way back Miss 6 spotted a tiny little wren which then flitted about quite close to us.

While out there I took this of the two of them, which I rather liked..

I was also interested to note that in the little light non-cushioned shoes the miss was wearing, her running was much better than in her enormous Ben 10 sand shoes: her gait today was not clumpy in the slightest. The young master, as always, looked effortless and joyful. 8)

Now, kids are fed, soon to bed. Then we have noms.

Nighty-night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.