In my room

This is what I saw of the world today. A corner of my room. All the same off-white colour (is it still called magnolia?). Or is it? I thought of Arachne(of course!). And I am still so fascinated by Wallace Stevens. 

I enjoyed this just as I emerged from the radio dead zone coming out of the Howgills and heading through the murk to Kendal and into stories. So many stories. The world is a bit surreal at the moment. Yesterday it was a row of beatific nuns (I wondered if I'd walked into a Dave Allen or Monty Python sketch). And then today ended in unsurprised shock (if there can be such a thing) . I intend to fight a battle I shouldn't have to when I get back on Monday. And boy do I intend to fight it and the smell of rot that attends it. When we objectify we are utterly lost.

Of the Surface of Things -Wallace Stevens

I

In my room, the world is beyond my understanding;
But when I walk I see that it consists of three or four
        hills and a cloud.

II

From my balcony, I survey the yellow air,
Reading where I have written,
“The spring is like a belle undressing.”

III

The gold tree is blue,
The singer has pulled his cloak over his head.
The moon is in the folds of the cloak.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.