A day in the life

By neacail

#4 Cercle Wagran -Paris

This cardroom is a couple of hundred metres from the Arc De Triomphe. As a friend was working in Paris, and another one living there, I took the opportunity to head over for a few long weekends in 2009.
Its quite a big card room and as you would normally have to wait for a table the three of us would usually be at different tables. Fortunes fluctuated wildly for everyone as we would be playing cash games for about 16hrs a day.
As I'd only ever be drinking beer or coffee, I could just about remember how to order the drinks in French from school days.
Parissienes are famous for being pretty arrogant, and I thought it was pretty poor when a waiter told me off for saying une bierre, une cafe et un verre de l'eau in my pigeon French instead of verre d'eau!
Overall we had an absolute blast, the one tournament I entered which was quite a big one I managed to bubble after losing a massive flip with AK v Q'S (remember it like it was yesterday!) that cost me a potentially huge number of euros and my first ever French Tournament Cash.
Cash games unusually for me ended profitably, albeit modest.


Venue: Cercle Wagran, Paris
Year: 2009
Tournament Success: None (bubble boy once again)
Cash Game Success: Yes
Summary: Pretty good card room, locals can be a bit unfriendly, staff can be a bit pissy - but hey its France, whatdya expect?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.