P****Hat Project

The PussyHat Project began at Thanksgiving with the goal of creating a distinctive hat for everyone who would be participating in the Women's March on Washington on January 21, the day after the inauguration. When I first heard of this movement to make a collective visual statement, I swore I would never make one of these hats: they're pink, they're weird looking, and I can't actually say the name out loud. Actually, when I first heard about PussyHats as a statement, I thought they were more like loin cloths, and that millions of women would protest Trump and his language by wearing codpieces to the inauguration. It turns out that they are hoping for a sea of pink heads.
I read somewhere that the name is an attempt to diffuse Trump's use of the word, and, because of the cat ear shapes that appear in the corners of this simple pattern, it is also a play on pussycat: pussyhat. Get it?
Most of the knitters in our weekly group are working on hats, as you can see from the photo. More experienced crafters are incorporating intricate designs, color changes, and textured patterns. In a fit of peer pressure I decided to make one as well. It works up fast, and the style kinda grows on you. You can get the pattern at the first link in this post.
There is a supportive Women's March here in Santa Cruz, and in other cities as well: Oakland, San Francisco, Sacramento. Maybe in your area as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.