Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Whoo Hoo!

I got one...a Painted Redstart in Madera Canyon.  I have to thank the birders who pointed it out in the trees to me.  They are rare here in the winter (Oct-Mar). 
"A warbler of surpassing beauty, the Painted Redstart is a specialty of the borderlands of the American Southwest (se AZ, sw NM). The only member of its genus that regularly occurs in the United States, it is unique among American warblers for its vocalizations and its conspicuous foraging methods."
-Cornell Lab of Ornithology

For more, check out the website  for the Cornell Lab of Ornithology  (my go-to site for North American birds), where you can also see the range map.

I've put two different views in the extras.  Enjoy this stunning bird!
PS His eye is actually in focus.  It appears as a little black dot.  The white is a unique streak under  the eye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.