The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Here we come a-wassailing

..Among the leaves so green!

No, I don't really know what's involved either, apart from some Morris-like costumes and mumming and generally English folkloric frolicking!

The tradition has been received in recent years in Stroud. The 'players' were at the farmers' market to promote their event next Saturday. Perhaps I will go along.

Today I was just passing through the area. I took another load of stuff to the charity shop, then our friends Pip and Mary visited from Bristol. We had lunch, then I sorted out more stuff at home and listened to a story before it was time to go out to a party. For my 'turn' I read a poem by someone else, and got told off by the hostess.

Now I'm at home, wondering why some people expect me to spin quite so many plates!
' Not today !' I replied, when she asked me to read one of my own works. There are days when the very act of turning up at a gathering is enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.