Ink drawing of my dream...

...and the underlying theme of the dream was lies. So I did this ink drawing in my dream diary.

Sometimes I handwrite my dreams. Other times I use an old ribboned typewriter...sometimes I draw my dreams and nightmares.

I have recorded my dreams since I was at least 7 years old. I didn't have words then, so I drew pictures each morning as soon as I woke up of my dreams that night. Unfortunately when I left home my mother threw out all my dream diaries, along with the rest of my stuff.

But, I can still remember a lot of the pictures I drew of my dreams. The first ever picture I drew of a dream (I was about 7, mid 1950's) was of cowboys on a sandy beach and I also drew me on the beach with a bucket and spade.

All my early dreams were in black and white. It wasn't until I was about 14 years old that I first dreamt in colour. I was swimming up a canal and reached a lock gate, and up to this point the dream was in black and white. I looked over the lock gate and suddenly was this huge explosion of colour in the form of a magnificent sunrise. I never forgot it. I can still recall it now. After that I was able to dream in colour. But I can still dream in black and white, and even in sepia.

In fact I can recall many dreams that I have had in my life. I can remember the first time I flew in a dream. I was about 13, and there was a fire in my dream...all the long grass around me was on fire...I needed to be above it, so I tried to fly, but it wasn't easy. It was a struggle to fly above the fire. This dream was still in black and white. Later in my dreams I got better at flying :)

I didn't record my dreams again until the 1980's.

So this is my offering for today in my attempt of a drawing or painting of some sort every day for 2017.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.