Say Cheese!

So we've finally had a day of rain. Well, almost. 

We found a dryish patch this afternoon on the beach near Port Ellen. The wind has died off and there was a calmness in the mist. We walked up to the lighthouse hoping we might spot an otter but the goats wafting their goats cheese aroma probably put them off even before we got there.

This morning, I had a fascinating tour around the Lagavulin distillery after a failed attempt to see Ardbeg which wasn't dog friendly nor running tours today. I was fortunate enough to be the only one there so while Rich sat in the lounge with his book and Little Dog, I had guide, Sophie, all to myself. I wouldn't have asked half as many questions if it was a big group and I really enjoyed her company for an hour. She was an islander and her dad, if I've got my facts right, is one of only seven people who now run the factory in single-man shifts.  It used to be run by 40. 

I never thought I'd ever be interested in touring a whisky distillery. But it is such a huge part of Islay's heritage and landscape, it really is the spirit of the island. I'm thoroughly glad I did.

Last night tonight. Our trips to the islands have typically been a week, but an extra three days was so worth it.  We cannot get over quite what a trip this has been.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.