Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

August Bank Holiday Saturday - Open Studios

Every August I look out for Hampshire Open Studios and as they're nearly over (it being almost Sept) today seemed like the day for visiting at a few. One I went to was lovely Marilyn Taylor's Stained Glass Workshop open studio at Awbridge, where she very kindly talked me through the making process and let me take pictures of her working. Here you can see the solder going on a tree, with, in the foreground, a display showing the life cycle of a glass fish- ie how it's made. I found the process fascinating. Oh, dear, am I going to have to learn to do it myself? Probably not, but I must admit I was tempted!

Now to open a contentious issue. It's the C-word, isn't it - Christmas!! Because I have to admit, not only did I buy several Christmas pressies from Marilyn, I actually went there with that intent!!!

Does this make me a sad person? Yes, I have to say it really does. On the other hand I think I'm quite a good present giver and there's something lovely about buying one-off pieces from makers, rather than fattening the profits of Asda and Marks.

Hope you're all having a fab weekend..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.