Return to the North

By Viking

Ballet

Although the weather was looking pretty miserable this morning I decided to go for a walk anyway!
I headed to Far Ings - the first hide was shut due to vandalism (don't get me started on that one!) so walked to the main hide where i have seen the kingfisher before. Alas not today although did see tufted ducks and beautiful teal. After about 30 mins of bird watching I headed out into the rain once more for a trudge through the mud.
At this point my blip was going to be the depth marker in the ponds (can see that amongst other shots here should you so wish) BUT on the way home, driving past Read's island in the Humber estuary I saw thousands of birds rising and then coming into land. Stopped rather quickly to try and capture the scene (also in extras). In the second lay by I stopped to capture more shots and then saw these waders doing what they do best, wade. obviously they caught some movement and started to fly away. I loved how it looks like they are ballet dancing.
I thought they were bar tailed godwits but looking closely they might be black tailed godwits. Either way they replaced the reeds and fathoms as my blip :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.