Lift

It doesn't happen very often and it usually only lasts half a day but today was a flat day.  Coinciding with returning from Scotland, maybe I was double flat.  I took Little Dog out just as the rain was subsiding and it was good to get some air.  But I returned feeling much the same.  

I've seen a few waxwings on Blip and knew they'd been spotted in our village and Ilkley.  There was some blue sky beginning to appear so I thought this could be my chance to try to find some and give myself a boost. 

I'm not a genuine twitcher but you know by now that I like my wildlife.  We happened across them about ten years ago on the way to Ilkley and haven't seen them since.  So I headed into Ilkley in search of some rowan trees and a car wash for our seasalt-ladened vehicle.

I found redwings by the station.  I discovered bountiful berries outside the post office.  I found berried but bare rowan trees in the car park.  But no waxwings.

With 30 minutes on the meter, I made my way back looking permanently upwards and trying to avoid people and cars at the same time.  I stopped by the post office with a redwing and a few rowans.  I was nearly back at the car, conscious of time running out when suddenly a flock of waxwings came from over my head out of nowhere and landed on the top branches in front of me on the tree I was staring at.  

They fleeted in, they took off.  That was almost it.

I waited for a little longer and a few more came back.  I rattled on about them to a lovely lady by the cashpoint who hadn't seen them before.  They flew off as rapidly as they came in.

And then I grinned all the way home. And in the car wash.  And still.
Feeling better now.  
What a lift!

UPDATE: and I've just discovered that the ringed one on the left has flown down from Perth this winter. (Ilkley is known for its good food!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.