Keepers

Funny how we accumulate things. Whilst cleaning out the dresser in the dining room today, I came across a lot of things that have somehow found their way into it or onto it and I am not sure where it has all come from.
 
For example, this set – presumably for milk and sugar. They must be quite old, as they are not something I would ever use and I can’t think that my mother would have used them either. So, they must have come from my grandmother and yes, she would have used them. She loved to have visitors or what she called ‘company’ and would have served tea properly with a tea set and teapot. I also have several pairs of sugar tongs and some glass cake stands, which I have to assume came from her as well.
 
They are rather pretty, so they are going back onto the dresser. Some things you just keep.
 

Perhaps I should have waited until I had dusted and polished the table before I took the photo, but I just caught them as the sun was on them, making them sparkle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.