2nd Sat Strollers

By AndrewDBurns

the smile poured through us like a river

I just love this Don Paterson poem about one of his (twin) sons ...

... should be read alongside this one, which I blipped a few months ago.

Both from the pictured 2003 collection:


Waking with Russell

Whatever the difference is, it all began
the day we woke up face-to-face like lovers
and his four-day-old smile dawned on him again,
possessed him, till it would not fall or waver;
and I pitched back not my old hard-pressed grin
but his own smile, or one I’d rediscovered.
Dear son, I was mezzo del cammin 
and the true path was as lost to me as ever
when you cut in front and lit it as you ran.
See how the true gift never leaves the giver:
returned and redelivered, it rolled on
until the smile poured through us like a river.
How fine, I thought, this waking amongst men!
I kissed your mouth and pledged myself forever.

 ---

Don Paterson (1963 - )

---

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.