Hiding From Rodents

Another horrid, dull, drizzly day. Something exciting did happen though. I photographed the heron taking off from our neighbour's lake again and when I looked at the pic on screen I'd also captured a kingfisher! I've never seen one there before.

I made a list of words from today's poem that I might encounter and photograph. I didn't see an owl or a naked-woman tree but got a few shore gulls, though the images weren't great. I got lots of lovely tweety birds from Longlands Hide but have decided to post the busy rat and the feeder marauding squirrel.

I quite like I Leave This At Your Ear For Nessie Dunsmuir by her husband WS Graham. I've been trying to work out what he left for her if it was an object. I'm thinking sea-shell.

"I stand in the ticking room. My dear, I take
A moth kiss from your breath. The shore gulls cry.
I leave this at your ear for when you wake."

I know that a butterfly kiss is when one flutters one's eyelashes on someone's skin. I've Googled and a moth kiss is similar but with the eyebrows. I suppose WSG could mean that he bent so close to his sleeping woman that her breath played on his face, feeling like a moth's wings might. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.