Jack Be Quick

Jazzy and I had more luck on our walk today. She picked up a scent and was running along with her nose to the ground, when I spotted Reynard. He looked at me then loped behind number eight glasshouse. I wasn't quick enough on the draw with my 'science rifle' and Jazz didn't spot him at all but had fun sniffing around for him.

Jack Heron was fishing in the far corner of our neighbour's lake when we approached. I got some shots of him with the mallards and the above when he took off.

Jazzy is very happy this evening, she has nosed into the bag of Christmas stuff that I have put ready to go up the loft and found a darling hedgehog finger puppet, she's treating it as her 'baby' at the moment. :)

Today's poem Against Extremity chimed with me. I agree with Charles Tomlinson about 'confessional poetry'. I haven't got a lot of time for the cult of ego and self-destructive urges, the 'poor me' 'look-at-me' 'me, me, me' extreme attention-seeking-behaviour.

"The time is in love with endings. The time's
Spoiled children threaten what they will do,
And those they cannot shake by petulance
They'll bribe out of their wits by show."


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.