Trainspotting Flying Squirrel

How weird! I was trying to find a blip subject in the gloom this afternoon when I heard a helicopter approaching. I always change my settings from those that I use for the likes of birds in flight and animals on the move so that I don't 'freeze' the rotors. While I was doing this my attention was taken by a squirrel amongst the hazel catkins. I usually eschew squirrels but took a shot in desperation. When the helicopter came into view it was an Ecureuil - a Squirrel!

This Aerospatiale Ecureuil is a specially modified version which belongs to Network Rail and features advanced technology to deliver rail and infrastructure aerial surveys. Nice that Aerospatiale chose wildlife names for its helicopters including Alouette and Gazelle. :)       

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.