Fush*

One of my favourite meals... a plump wee herring, fried in pinhead oatmeal, served with boiled tatties and peas. A splash of vinegar on the fish and there you are. Simple and delicious.

Got the fish from the Eyemouth stall at the Farmers' Market this morning; fresh as a very fresh thing. Then we went for a wander round the Craft Fair at the west end. I've had a look round there every August since they started, I think; in fact, I was called in to help paint the blue wood-stain on the booths when they were first built, sometime in the eighties.
Met a very old friend at her stall (well, she's younger than me, but her hair has gone quite gold with age, to paraphrase Wilde ;)... good to catch up.

This evening, we discovered that another old friend had sneaked off to get married yesterday. Hooray! She's promised that a celebratory party will be held at a later date. Double Hooray!


*correct Fife pronunciation, shared with the Kiwis, I believe ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.