More Nostalgia

Poor light early. Then most of the day in Manchester for my annual check up with my consultant Neurologist. Good news on the whole so I may be blipping for a while yet.

When sorting through books the other day I came across this year book from 1950. My name is printed in it as a Junior Member.

That brings back memories of the memorable matches I saw including spin bowler Jim Laker taking 8 wickets for 2 runs and the legendary Australian batsman Don Bradman scoring 360 at Leeds.
My little home town of Pudsey was famous for being the home of many famous cricketers including Len Hutton. Len lived next door to us in a big house overlooking our tiny semi detached bungalow. He sometimes came round to ask for his ball back.

A great thrill at the age of 14 was being brought home from a match in Len's car with some other famous players. Apart from anything else it was probably only the second or third timeI had ever ridden in a car.

How life has changed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.