A Fully Armed and Operational Death Star!

All of the full moons have names, and January's is one of the most poetic of all: the full wolf moon, or full snow moon. The moon will be waxing full this week, with actual full moon occurring in my area on Thursday morning.

It's been so cold these past few days that I've hardly been outside at all, except to sit on the front porch for a few minutes in a chair each morning, holding the cat in my arms. It is how Dexter and I begin each day.

But the moon was so lovely on this evening that I had to go and see. And so I actually went outside several times to view the night sky. I saw the early moon, the corona moon, the dance with clouds, and then there was this.

My new camera has more zoom than ever. My old camera, the Canon PowerShot SX50 HS, had 50X zoom. The new one is the SX60 HS; at 65X zoom, it can get me up close and personal to just about anything. I am still getting used to it.

I was able to take maximum zoom shots with the old camera free-hand. But I find that I'm struggling to do that with the newer camera because of the increased firepower. When fully zoomed, it's best if I rest it against something. And so that is what I did to get some more "extreme-zoom" pictures of the moon.

I ended up with this shot, which reminded me of that line from the Star Wars film, Return of the Jedi: "Now witness the firepower of this fully armed and operational battle station!" (Best if said in a very dire and menacing tone, as in the film.)

With the extra zoom, I think you can see lots of nooks and crannies there. Maybe not quite as many as a Thomas' English muffin, but plenty tasty indeed. :-)

I am posting this blip on January 10, which was a very sad day a year ago, as it was the day that David Bowie died. Perhaps there are Bowie fans among us who are feeling especially mournful on this date . . .

If so, it may do you well to visit my remembrance posting of last year and click on a few of the song links. (I've checked and made sure they're all up to date.) Dance if you feel like it! For a celebration of life can be found in the dance.

The song to accompany this posting is a celebration of the moon (sort of), as envisioned by Bowie. And so here is Moonage Daydream, which appears on the album The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars.

P.S. Later on this day, I came across a Rolling Stone list of 25 of David Bowie's most unforgettable on-screen moments, and I thought I'd add it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.