Girl Walking in a Snowstorm

The weather was predicted to become somewhat wintry, so I caught the bus to work. It conveniently dropped me off downtown at the corner of College and Allen. So it was that I was sitting in a window booth at the Corner Room enjoying a hot and hearty breakfast when the first snowflakes fell.

First just a few, then they brought a million friends, just for fun. I dispatched my delicious breakfast quickly, paid my bill, tucked my camera under my coat, opened my umbrella, and headed out into the storm.

I walked a couple of my favorite pathways on campus, taking pictures as the storm progressed. Some of you may remember that earlier snowstorm where my umbrella sort of exploded and then imploded, leaving my brand new camera and myself exposed to the elements. I'm happy to report that nothing untoward happened on this day.

The snow did pick up, though, and it was putting it down quite fiercely. I remember thinking to myself . . . but didn't they say it would snow this afternoon? But there it was, first thing in the morning! And the roads quickly became treacherous. But campus . . . well, I'm happy to report that it was simply glorious in the snow.

I've included two of the pictures I took. As you might have guessed, I took many. The one above was taken below Pattee Library, right in front of Sparks building, where light was shining out through golden windows. It was later in the storm when the snow was at its thickest. In fact, at this point, it was snowing so heavily that you could barely see.

The girl had her head down against the elements, and the snow was really pelting. The photo gives you a sense of what it's like to be out in the elements. And I imagine I looked very similar to her, except . . . with umbrella, and camera, of course!

The second photo is one I took very early in the storm, when the snow was just teasing a little bit. I love those long rows of old-fashioned lamps, and I often set up shots using them as framing. A man with a red umbrella walked into my shot and made it better. So please have a look at the extra, as well.

The soundtrack is Styx, with Snowblind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.