Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Back to the 1940s

An odd coincidence: 
while listening this evening to Peter and the Wolf narrated by David Bowie on the radio I was glancing through the Facebook page of a member of our writers' club and he'd posted a picture of an 18th century children's alphabet list. The two things together took me back to primary school, Albert Road in the World Heritage village of Saltaire.

My reaction to my infants' school first class teacher's presentation of one letter in the list, I - "i is for Ibby, who was so happy to go to school he threw his hat in the air" - was the basis of a tale often told by my mother, who had taught me to read and write by the time I was three years old. Basically I told the teacher she was ridiculous.

I first heard Peter and the Wolf 3 or 4 years later when I was in the adjacent junior school and hearing it always takes me back there.

The radio isn't as old as it first looks. 50p at a car boot sale a few years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.