Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

100 word story

With very high winds, it was difficult to find some leaves for this blip.

Members of our writers' club would tell you that while others rattle off 1000 words or a chapter of a novel, I usually present something short - a haiku, stretching myself a tanka, or a very short short story. Although I've earned my living for most of my working life by writing, I'm very much a newcomer to writing fiction.

When I recently came across a blogger who managed to write and post a 100 word story  every day last year I was of course interested, and impressed, but when she threw down the challenge this year to submit a 100 word story I felt I must have a go. Here's my story. What do you think?

Struggling, she managed to push her head above the surrounding leaves, tremoring in the cold air although the sun was shining brightly. Trapped for so long in the dank dark she had begun to believe she would never get out. Now she had, would anyone find her trapped in this isolated spot? Tall trees in deep shadow surrounded the tiny patch of sunlight in which she had emerged. She stretched, trying to make her colourful attire more visible.

Suddenly footsteps, running, crunching through Autumn's leftovers. Then, a child's voice, excited, happy: "Look mummy, I've found the first crocus of Spring!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.