A 'Lightbulb' Moment

It has been a fun evening at Camera Club for another of our practical sessions.  Tonight it was a development of low light photography, this time with a very bright source - a candle flame.  There was a good turn out of members and we all got a chance to chat a bit and see what others were trying out.

I was a bit 'at sea' as I had not thought about what I might actually do.  So, whilst I had camera and tripod, I had no candle or any other item that might be useful; so I had to be 'creative'. I found a light bulb in the kitchen, and balanced this on a wine glass (from a kitchen cupboard) stuffed with a serviette (from the 'tea' box).  I lit this with a candle placed behind (borrowed from one organised club member) aided by light from another candle (from another club member). To get some rim lighting my reflectors were sheets of white paper rolled up into paper cups.  It's amazing what can be done.

However, I have ended up with an image that is no use for anything except a lesson in being better prepared!  In my defence, I have spent most of the day researching or phoning about aspects related to my mother -  I won''t bore you...but nothing is straightforward!- and headed out for CC at a rapid rate.  Great evening though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.