Starry, Starry Night - or Retail Therapy?

Today I really found it hard to get motivated for work. I am tired!
It was not the overly stressful day, which makes it easier to become frustrated, as you have actually time to think about it ....
So after my 3 pm call I went out with the firm intention to buy this wonderful 1930th velvet coat I tried on on Saturday.
It was cold and wet but the shop is not too far. Anna, the shop owner recognised me, which was nice.
The coat was still there and I tried it on again. It looked great. 
I then started inspecting it closely and found too many thing that needed proper and very skilled mending, that I had to come to the conclusion that I will not pay 100 or more pounds for this piece. Sad! But then Anna said, she get's those coats regularly and she will look out for one for me. Happy :). But then I was there to soothe my frustration by taking something home, wasn't I? So I started trying on other 1930th dresses and found a wonderful long black lace dress which fit me perfectly!!! It had no flaws and was in prefect condition! Mine now!!!
While I was in the shop a gentleman came in and started talking to Anna. He was obviously the owner of the property and as it seemed of many more in the Westend. I ended up getting involved in the conversation. The man was a really interesting person and runs the Hidden Lane Gallery in Finnieston. He told me that he is curating the work of a female photographer, Margaret Watkins born 1884. 
He received a closed box from her in 1967 with the condition not to open it before she had died. 2 years later he found a stunning collection of her photographs and researched further about her life. Most amazing story which reminds me of Viviane Meyers.
If you click the link above you get some more information.
He has currently an exhibition of her photographs running and I need to go there on the weekend latest. Fascinating story and he was a really interesting person to meet!
Once I paid for the dress I made my way back home to work. 
I had a colleague visiting Glasgow and promised to take him out for dinner. I left the house at 7 pm to pick him from the airport and then we went to the Hanoi Bike Shop for an amazing dinner. I love that restaurant. The have a new menu and I cannot wait to get back there soon.
I dropped Maciej at his hotel and was home just after 11pm. 
Neil came home from work at midnight! One of us is as bad as the other .... !! A lot of room for improvement!

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.