Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

100

I took this photograph last Saturday and saved it for my 100th blip because it represents so much of what has happened and so much of what I have come to love since I picked up photography three months ago.
I remember that in one of my first blips I was worried that I might not find anything to blip that measures up to what you guys were blipping. You all live in places of such overwhelming beauty. A number of you responded something similar to "beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder". I knew that proverb, of course, but now I set my mind and heart on discovering what it really meant.
Thus began a dialogue between my camera and its surroundings, capturing light here and there, trying to freeze movement into a single frame, discovering how an image can tell a better story than a thousand words.
It took me a while to realize that the real dialogue wasn't between the camera and its surroundings, but between the camera and me. There was one question that my camera kept asking: What world do YOU want me to show you?
To cut a long story short: Photography and blipping have become a daily examination of conscience.
 

I thank you all for filling my blipsky with innumerable stars, for showering my real heart with so much love in the form of little red virtual hearts and, above all, for your comments that have initiated a dialogue with people all around the world: in the US, Hawaii (I know it belongs to the States, but it IS a country in its own right, isn't it?), Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Britain, Scotland, Ireland, Japan, Mexico, Switzerland, Portugal, and a little enchanted valley in the very south of Africa. I don't have the words to say how much that means to me. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.