Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

A Litte Roadtrip

It's been a week now since Carla and Isabella have left to spend a month with my wife's relatives in Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo. I'm not a big fan of being alone for such a long time, I miss their laughter, Isabella's constant chatter and the proximity of my wife that makes me feel so good and safe.
On the other hand, being alone gives me more time to work and to finally get done with the translation of that philosophy book about subjectivity (it's not that bad, really, but sometimes I ask myself if these few things worth mentioning couldn't be said in fewer and simpler words). 
But last night, after being showered with so much love and encouragement by the blipcommunity, I realized that I need to take some time off and do something fun.
After reviewing my first one hundred blips, I noticed that something was missing. I have shown you the people I interact with and a bit of the town we live in. But nothing of its surroundings. I decided I had to do something about that.
So, this morning, I got up at 4AM and headed north to be at my destination at sunrise. A full moon and perfectly clear sky provided for excellent driving conditions. But as I got closer to my destination, the sky darkened and I began to fear for today's blip.  I was lucky. The sky cleared up a bit and I was able to take some satisfactory shots that show you a bit of the region we live in. 
The main blip is a mountain that rises straight out of a plain and looks a bit like a thumb. (I took this picture shortly before sunrise, hence the missing colors.)
The fist extra shows a small farm already close to my destination. The second extra shows Monte Pascoal (Easter Mountain), the first bit of Brazilian soil Pedro Álvares Cabral spotted from his ship in 1500. Cabral set foot on the beautiful beaches of Bahia around Easter, hence its name. Unfortunately, the park was still closed when I got there. Otherwise, I would have walked up to the top (it is not very high, only about 560 meters). The very south of the state of Bahia is a region very rich in history and geography. I hope to show you a bit more of it in the future.
Now, back to work.

(A huge thank you for all who have left their comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's blip. I am overwhelmed by the kindness and generosity of you all. I hope my journal continues to be a contribuition to that very special place that you have created here and into which you have welcomed me with such benevolence.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.