Side by side

A day which began with a young man from the plumbers we use; here to replace the gas hob with one that actually works. We have had repairs made on the previous one, and within a few months we would get back to low flames and slow cooking. Cooking dinner tonight was so much less stressful.

Getting near the end of the reorganisation here. Today was still another day focussed on those tasks, until late in the day when I went to the supermarket. There are four within a 2-3 km radius. I prefer to go to the one owned by a New Zealand company, even though it is marginally further away than the others, all owned by the Australian competitor. 

On the way back, I stopped at the lights from Pollen Street onto Williamson Avenue. Looking ahead, I noted that I could see two of the businesses which get my custom. Glengarry has a superb wine range, and if one only buys the specials it is possible to have good drinking without breaking the budget.

Pane e Vino is one of the best local Italian restaurants, and it is where we get our take away pizzas. The maitre D has taken to completing my order for me; perhaps I am the only customer who asks them to add olives to the prosciutto and funghi.

Two days until the family arrive from Sydney.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.