I DID IT, I DID IT!!!!!! A custom Collage

     This weekend is going to be a Bonsai weekend.  During January, deciduous trees are doorment which is why these trees look so scragly, leafless and rather ugly.  These trees will be pulled out of their existing pots, root pruned and then either repotted in soil or placed in a bonsai pot with bonsai soil.  I don't think any of these are ready for pots, but that is a conversation for  David (bonsai master) myself and other bonsai people that are always welcomed to discuss the merits of the tree.  Ultimately, with all the input, the decision is mine.  But....  it is so stimulating to hear how others see things  different  than I do, and many times things that I don't see.  It is an incredible, fun, challenging, creative, passionate, respectful, and artistic thing to do with living plants.
      After the potting decision has been made, then the upper part of the plant is looked at, evaluated and trimmed for ramification and branch selection for primary and secondary branches.  It's a lot of analysis and discussion... there can be as many as 15 or 20 other people working at the same time.
     There are 5 plants in my collage that will be joining me,  2 Acer Palmatums (Japanese Maple), 2 Kodahemie Maples (minature Acer's) and a Japanese Elm.  After the weekend I will post pics of what they have become.  I have decided to photograph a year in bonsai....  on the 1st and the 15 of each month.  It is quite a challenge for me.
      The first challenge was learning how to make collages.  The one above was created this morning in 15 mins in LR, it also is a custom creation, not a preset, so I am thrilled that I was able to make this happen so easily!!!!!!!!

     Have a wonderful weekend!  Mine is going to be AWSOME!!!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.