I am grateful for ...

By shirleyray

Things You Find......

when it is raining and you can't find anything else to do.

I was shredding some papers yesterday and came across an old treasure box that belonged to my mother. There were a lot of interesting things in it, but I found this medal to be the most interesting.

There was very little information, but these were given out by W. Jennings Demorest starting in 1886, "encouraging young people to recite speeches of temperance movement leaders." The practice was continued through the early years of the 20th century. 

On the back of the medal is engraved "Awarded to WBS". (my mother's grandfather). This gave me a bit of incite on my mom's aversion to any kind of alcohol.

There was also a "Morris Selz Liberty Bell Medal, awarded for Highest Average". I couldn't find any information on this, but did find that a lot of people were trying to sell them.

I am grateful to have little treasures from my parents past. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.