Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Govetts Art

A week or so back I shot THIS which is Jenny Kee's wonderful mural on the western wall of the Victory Theatre Antiques building. If you look at the mural and then turn 180 degrees, you see another mural designed by Jenny Kee on the public toilets building (lower image, above). The actual painting was done by Lindena and her friend Robin Martin.

The top part of the blip is a mural on the Blackheath Railway Station building painted many years ago by Vernon Treweeke, which fosters Blackheath's fictional "Govetts Leap" legend, used to help promote our annual Rhododendron Festival. The extra shows the art again but gives a better indication of how it is found.

I have actually blipped both of these separately over the years as have the other Blackheath Blippers at one time or another but I hadn't included them in my Blue Mountains Street Art survey until now and to the best of my knowledge they have never been blipped together before.

Just a reminder: While BobsBlips is on holidays, I shall be hosting WIDE ANGLE WEDNESDAYS - starting next Wednesday (Jan 18) I shall be running a technical challenge every week, to highlight the distinctive potential of  wide angle photography.  Next week's tag code is widwed63 and the subject is "Perspective". I shall be offering an explanation of the topic plus a brief tutorial on my "Pre Widwed Blip" next Tuesday 17th.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.