SILLY SATURDAY 15

The cows who stood rather late in last year still in the meadows have disappeared  in the cold weather now of course But at the farm which we pass the cows can come out the barn and stay outside as long as they want.
They are curious and look at us, as if we are the silly ones.
In the morning Mischa phoned to gratulate me with my 72th birthday today. I thanked her for her present that had reached me in time. That made her happy.
The present:  a jewel of a book written by Lars Jonsson (from Sweden), Wintervogels, with fascinating watercolours of his hand. I have already read the introduction, and the first chapter on the partridge.
Piet Hein gave me a little outing, we drove to Schönhagen, where we parked. It is a village in the Solling, much higher than we live, and on our way there we admired the winterlandscape with snowfields, a big surprise. We visited the Lutheran church, and saw that a life-size Nativity
in the porch of the church still was exhibited.  (an extra photo of the shepherd with sheep and donkey and of of the sign on the parking place) Then we followed a path into the snowfields, it was extremely cold there, and as there were intense dark clouds in the sky from where we had come, we decided to make a short walk, and return along another road, that led us through Uslar.
We had a bit of snow, for a short time. Well, this is who I am, I was thinking that if there would be a sudden blizzard, we could easily (?) halt in Uslar and take the train to our town back. Worst case-scenario.
No need for that. We came home safe and sound. The sun came out for a while.
When we came home, there was a book waiting in the post-box. For you, Piet Hein told me. I thanked him, and I smiled when I saw him reading it with much pleasure.

It is Silly Saturday again, and I want to emphasize that I have chosen the word silly only because it alliterates with Saturday. The challenge could have been named Funny S, or Absurd S, whatever is a bit or much out of the ordinary! That's how I see it.

Tonight I will not catch up with all your beautiful and funny photos.
It is a kind of special night and I will quietly enjoy it with my dear husband.
I have received e-mails for congrats, and one was very dearly to me, it was from a friend in France, who could tell me now, that after a serious illness, he was recovering, but still under treatment. God bless him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.