a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Nice new waistcoat

With my son James and his fiancee visiting we did that traditional family thing - we had a trip out to visit a local National Trust property.  We joined up with my sister Janet and her husband incredibish for a good look around Tyntesfield House. 

We've been many times before but there is always something new to see.  The former home of Lord Wraxhall, whose predecessor was once the richest commoner in the land before the family were granted a baronetcy.  Their fabulous wealth came from mining guano - that's bird poo to you and I.  It all just goes to prove the old saw that "where there's much there's brass".   

I managed to get quite close to this robin for this shot, considering that I was shooting with a 70mm lens without the benefit of the DX enlargement factor.  But robin's do seem particularly comfortable with human presence, which is I am sure just one of the reasons we find them so endearing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.