Norn again

Megan came home with Claire. Exhausted. We left her, Angus and Ferdi and headed to town for a night out with Gordy and Sara at Norn.

The menu is secret and the choice is "4 courses or 7". We choose 7. Claire and Gordy are driving, but there's an option to have a glass of specially selected wine with each course. I'm pretty sure I was going to decline, but under peer pressure I agree to keep Sara company.

The waiters describe every course in exquisite (or tedious) detail. I know about the flour they use to make the bread and how it's milled by a man in Orkney.

There's a rotating array of waiters, each with a regional accent and as the meal progresses, and I fall under the influence of glass after glass of fine, natural, regionally enhanced wine, it becomes increasingly hard to make sense of the words I'm hearing.

By the end I'm legless. There will be black spots. There will surely be wailing, gnashing of teeth and empty oaths to never drink again. But that's tomorrow. For now it's "Home, Claire".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.