Alien

Early to Beeslack for Megan, to catch a bus to a lifesaving competition in Newcastle. I lay in bed feeling sorry for myself. Even sugary foods failed to enliven me.

Angus picked up his mountain bike from West Linton and headed off to Glentress for a few hours of snowy, muddy exercise.

By midday I was feeling somewhat more human and began the slow baked venison haunch by inserting dozens of slivers of our homemade bacon into deep incisions. It's going to go well with the red cabbage Claire made a few days ago, but I needed to dig some more tatties for roasting. The saving grace was the need for wine in the venison recipe, which allowed me to partake of the dog hair.

Angus returned spattered, Topher & Jan arrived, dinner was served. Jan brought tartlets for the starter, the venison was succulent, Claire & Angus made profiteroles and Topher brought out the cheese. At 11 Claire went to collect Megan from West Linton. All done by midnight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.