Cardinals in the Rain

We were supposed to drive home from New York this morning but there were predictions of freezing rain to start about 4 am and last through the day so we decided to drive home late last night and didn't get home until 2 am.  It was hard to leave that beautiful baby, but we will be going back next week so I can do some official newborn shots.  In the meantime, we get phone pictures and videos every couple of hours, which are absolutely delightful.

We did not get the freezing rain in our immediate area, but we did have a very dreary wet day.  At one point I looked out in the backyard and there were 4 male cardinals and 3 females all sitting in the same tree.  By the time I grabbed the camera, that shot was long gone.  The best I could do was to get these two and in order to do so, I had to bundle up in a winter coat, slightly open the door to the screened porch, sit in a chair with my camera out only as far as the roof overhang and sit and wait.  I also got a shot of a Red-bellied Woodpecker, which was a rare opportunity for me as they are so skittish.  I have loaded that in extras. 

Many thanks to all of you who stopped by and left lovely comments, hearts and stars for our beautiful new granddaughter. She hit page one before she was two days old.  I hope one day to tell her that she was a blip sensation. My heart is so full, it feels like it will burst. Thank you for sharing in our joy. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.