Snowy Sib

Snow was on the ground on landing in Sibiu, Romania, and the gauge on the car recorded as low as minus 11. I wonder if this is the coldest temperature I've ever been in. Possibly. It felt exceedingly crisp and fresh. I would probably be using more negative adjectives if I'd been in it for a few hours, counting bear footprints (as our field team does regularly).

My colleague Iain greeted the driver Bogdan with a 'warm isn't it!' comment. It had been below minus 20 last week. However I maintained a steely bemused silence.

Sibiu looks like an absolutely beautiful city and I want to explore it in daylight. Tonight we powered through the Transylvanian countryside with Bogdan and arrived in Deva, home for the next couple of weeks. It's known for its castle atop a hill overlooking the town (pictured).

I've forgotten shaving implements. Lumberjack face will keep me warm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.