johnlorimer

By johnlorimer

sentimental sushi

I saw something in my daughter today that makes me realise we are wired up similarly.

I introduced Lucy to sushi. I cannot remember where or when, but she loves it. I am sure she would happily eat it every day if allowed to.

Over the years, just the two of us would go to the local sushi train for a Saturday lunch. It was our daddy/daughter time. It was a pretty cool train with K pop playing on multiple screens, the obligatory 'Moshi Moshi' as you walk in and so on. The food was excellent as well.

Today she asked me if we can go their soon as we have not been for a while, mostly due to me working many Saturdays lately. I had actually heard from one of my cycling buddies that it had closed, so told her this. She immediately searched on her ipad and saw that the google page for it said 'permanently closed'.

She started to tear up. Visibly sad. I was too. It was 'our' place.
 
Photo was taken by an extremely poor mobile phone camera, but it captures what I am trying to explain I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.