Shadows and Tracks

Out again on the frozen lake but this time I set out from home and skied the kilometre down to the lake. It's not the distance that matters but it is a tricky ski out of the garden and through the forest. On the other hand there is something very satisfying about skiing from the front door! I had my first fall of the season where the track made a right angled turn and it became obvious I wasn't going to make a right angled turn, and I bailed out.
For me falling over is an integral part of skiing (especially downhill skiing!). If you're not falling over you're not trying hard enough!  Many of my Swedish friends find this attitude "interesting" but then they were born on skis. 
The snow covered countryside usually looks empty but the tracks tell a different story. The snow has been lying for a few days now so there are more tracks every day. The biggest are from snow mobiles, the smallest from mice but hares, foxes, dogs, and people (walking and skiing) have also been out.
This is Jan moving off along her track while my tracks are down in the corner. I was busy taking the extra blip when I turned to see Jan silhouetted so nicely!
I am so grateful we live in such a lovely place!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.