If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Goldfinch

I spend a lot of time gazing out of the living room window on most days.  This isn't day dreaming nor is it an attempt to avoid doing things I should be doing.  It is because weekly I send in records to the BTO Garden Birdwatch.

I find doing this shows some interesting trends, how one species can be visiting a lot one week and barely seen the next.  For the last couple of weeks we have had more than usual number of visits from Goldfinch and Long Tailed Tits.

I like the Goldfinches because for some reason they aren't as easily disturbed as some of the other species.  I can walk about in the room and they aren't frightened away.  So today I managed this shot through the window of what I am fairly certain is a female.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.